Cine Gear Expo to Award Pioneering Women in Cinematography, Carl Zeiss and Film Competition

Cine Gear Expo to Award Pioneering Women in Cinematography, Carl Zeiss and Film Competition


Cine Gear Expo
T: 310-472-0809
Effective: May 25, 2018



Hollywood, California—At this year’s premier industry event, Cine Gear Expo will recognize individuals and manufacturers who have performed outstanding service and made significant contributions to advancing the arts and crafts of filmmaking at its Reception and VIP Awards Ceremony on June 1, 2018. Held at the Paramount Theater and Paseo Grounds, honors will be presented for Technical Lifetime Achievement, Film Festival Competition winners, and a special tribute to six filmmakers who are helping to change the face of cinematography.

Highlighting the occasion will be the Pioneering Women in Cinematography Award. “This year,” says Juliane Grosso, CEO and partner of Cine Gear Expo, “Cine Gear is pleased to honor six women who have literally broken the glass ceiling as cinematographers. It is our hope that by shining a light on trailblazers Ellen Kuras, Reed Morano, Nancy Schreiber, Amy Vincent, Mandy Walker and Cynthia Pusheck, all members of the American Society of Cinematographers, we are also able to lend encouragement to all women who work behind-the-lens.”

This year’s Cine Gear Technical Achievement Lifetime Award will go to Carl Zeiss SBE. Zeiss’s dedication to innovation in the cinema lens world has earned multiple Science and Engineering Academy Awards. On hand to receive the Cine Gear Award will be Joerg Schmitz – ZEISS Vice President Consumer Productions Division and Michael Schiehlen, ZEISS Senior Director Consumer Productions Division.

Awards will also be given out for the Film Competition held on Thursday, May 31. Winners will receive top filmmaking tools, including: cameras, lighting, accessories, and support—thanks to the generous donations of Film Series sponsors.

Finalists in the Independent Short Film category (screening noon to 1:45pm) include:

Demon: Caleb Slain, Director
Monday: Dinh Thai, Director
Neutral: Nathan Barnatt Director
Seed: Nelson Lee, Director
All The Marbles: Michael Swingler, Director
Trust No One: Simon Kassianides, Director

Commercials/Music Video finalists (shown 2:15pm – 2:45pm) are:

Man in Tie Dye: Dakota Adney, Director
JBL-Sound of the Heart: Julian Acosta, Director
Hundred Handed “Vibe”: John Perry, Director
Slowly-Son Lux: Alex Cook, Director
Juan Hoerni feat Terry Dexter “Say It”: Chris Etheredge Director
PvP: Sam KJ, Director
Red Rover, Semler (Official Music Video): Irina Nichita, Director
Only In My Dreams-The Marías: Ian Lipton, Director

Student Short Finalists (screening 3:15pm – 5:25pm) include

Night Call: Amanda Renee Knox, Director
It’s Just A Gun: Brian Robau, Director
Pitter Patter Goes My Heart: Christoph Rainer, Director
Sauna: Charlie Polinger, Director
The Chocolate Soldier: Jackson Smith, Director
Tabula Rasa: Rosita Lama Muvdi, Director
Can’t Take My Eyes Off You: Gabriele Fabbro, Director
Tomislav Dnevnik (Tomislav’s Diary): Wie-Tai Liu, Director
Excuse Me, I’m Looking for the Ping-Pong Room and My Girlfriend: Bernhard Wenger, Director

Screening tickets may be purchased individually or via a Film Series Pass:

For additional information, directions, and Free Cine Gear registration open until Midnight PDT on May 26, 2017, visit


Information prepared by Lewis Communications:

For Additional News and Photos visit